Gartner Hype Cycle

 

 

In the sheets, newer technologies are often analyzed legally. In order to filter out interesting technologies, the “Hype Cycle for Emerging Technologies“ of the research and consulting company Gartner Inc. can prove particularly useful. It shows which technologies are likely to be on the way to a hype, which are currently being hyped, and which have already left the hype behind.

 

The Hype Cycles of the last two years are shown below. Moving the slider to the right reveals the current Hype Cycle of August 18, 2020. If, however, it is moved to the left, the older Hype Cycle of August 29, 2019 comes to light.

 

 

 

According to Gartner Inc., the first phase of the Hype Cycle begins with an “Innovation Trigger”. Here, the attention is limited to the great interest of the professional audience. Next, attention rises exponentially to the “Peak of Inflated Expectations“ as a result of the intensive reporting. In the third phase, attention plunges into a “Trough of Disillusionment“ due to the unfulfilled expectations. Ultimately, attention rises on a “Slope of Enlightenment“ up to the “Plateau of Productivity“ because of a realistic assessment of the advantages and disadvantages of the technology. The initially overrated, immature innovation has become solid technology from a realistic perspective.

 

The futurologist Roy Amara offers a simplified formulation of the Hype Cycle: “We tend to overestimate the effect of a technology in the short run and underestimate the effect in the long run.  

(Amara's Law).

 

Thus, in addition to filtering out interesting innovations for the Sheets, the Gartner Hype Cycle also serves a second important function: In order to be able to assess the opportunities and risks of a technology as objectively as possible, a step back should be taken to observe the technology in the larger context of its expected development. 

Formalities

 

 

In the sheets, text in blue color contains the link to the cited document or article. Orange (sheet no. 1) or green (from sheet no. 2) text contains the link to optional content (e.g., videos).

 

The layout and the citation may vary from sheet to sheet.

 

blau_edited_edited_edited_edited_edited_

Contact me!

Gartner Hype Cycle

 

In den Sheets werden häufig neuere Technologien rechtlich beurteilt. Um interessante Technologien herauszufiltern, kann sich besonders der „Hype Cycle for Emerging Technologies“ des Forschungs- und Beratungsunternehmens Gartner Inc. als nützlich erweisen. Darauf ist ersichtlich, welche Technologien sich voraussichtlich auf dem Weg zu einem Hype befinden, welche zurzeit gehypt werden und welche einen Hype bereits hinter sich gelassen haben. 

Unten sind die Hype Cycles der letzten zwei Jahre abgebildet. Wird der Regler nach rechts verschoben, zeigt sich der aktuelle Hype Cycle vom 23. August 2021. Wird er hingegen nach links bewegt, kommt der ältere Hype Cycle vom 18. August 2020 zum Vorschein. 

Gemäss Gartner Inc. beginnt die erste Phase des Hype-Zyklus mit einem technologischen Auslöser („Innovation Trigger“). Dabei ist die Aufmerksamkeit auf das grosse Interesse des Fachpublikums beschränkt. Infolge der intensiven Berichterstattung steigt die Aufmerksamkeit exponentiell bis zum Gipfel der überzogenen Erwartungen („Peak of Inflated Expectations“). In der nächsten Phase stürzt die Aufmerksamkeit aufgrund der unerfüllten Erwartungen in ein Tal der Enttäuschungen („Trough of Disillusionment“). Mit einer realistischen Einschätzung der Vor- und Nachteile der Technologie steigt die Aufmerksamkeit schliesslich auf einem Pfad der Erleuchtung („Slope of Enlightenment“) bis hin zum Plateau der Produktivität („Plateau of Productivity“). Die anfangs überschätzte, unausgereifte Innovation ist aus einer realistischen Perspektive zu einer soliden Technologie geworden. 

Eine vereinfachte Formulierung des Hype-Zyklus bietet der Zukunftsforscher Roy Amara: „Wir neigen dazu, die kurzfristige Wirkung einer Technologie zu überschätzen und die langfristige Wirkung zu unterschätzen.“ 

(Amaras Gesetz). 

Somit kommt dem Gartner Hype Cycle neben dem Herausfiltern von interessanten Innovationen für die Sheets auch eine zweite wichtige Funktion zu: Um die Chancen und Risiken einer Technologie möglichst objektiv beurteilen zu können, sollte ein Schritt zurück gemacht und die Technologie im grösseren Kontext ihrer Erwartungsentwicklung beobachtet werden

blau_edited_edited_edited_edited_edited_

Kontaktiere mich!